top of page
  • Writer's pictureLisa

Fun before Dorian...

Updated: Feb 15, 2021

(Authored by Lisa)

August was rather hot & humid in Jacksonville, but we managed to stay busy with our Jacksonville exploration and even found some fun things to do inside -- with AC!


A couple from Washington (state) joined us for bowling at The Phoenix Bar & Bowling --a renovated 1958 bowling alley. At my age, I needed an 8-pound ball, but with the scarce ball selection, my fingers demanded a 12-pound ball. I can't believe how worn out I was after the 1st game -- let alone the 2nd! But we had fun despite the wobbly lane and slick approach. No one was injured, and two of us managed to break 100!



To test our new mini (cheapo-Asian) projector & screen,Ray & I watched Captain Ron--our favorite boat movie, on the bow. We then had a few people over to watch Waterworld. It was a big hit, and we have made tentative plans for a "float-in" movie by the pool.



I've gone for girls day out (shopping and lunch), crocheted several cute projects, and researched marinas and made slip reservations for the winter. Ray & I visited the local Methodist Church. A historic church with a beautiful pipe organ.


I made a quick trip to SC with Daddy. While the purpose of the trip was to support a family member being ordained as a deacon, the best part was seeing my great niece, who is almost 11 months. (I was enjoying my time with her so much that I forgot to ask someone to get our picture.😢) While I was gone, Ray enjoyed a retirement party for a dock neighbor. And I think he worked on a few projects (no surprise).


Ray's tour of Jax breweries expanded to include several other boaters. This month we took a road trip to Jacksonville Beach: Engine 15, Southern Swells, and Green Room. A few days later, we tried Fishweir Brewery after having pizza happy hour in the Murray Hill neighborhood.



We met several boaters for Hibachi lunch nearby, played cards in the boaters lounge a few times, and spent alot of time "noodling" in the pool. We had another group cookout at the clubhouse, and Tanuki had us over for their GHTA-famous homemade pasta. Delicious! We tried several new restaurants, including an eclectic place called Goozlepipe and Guttyworks (aka Kickbacks Gastropub). Lots of 'steam-punk' stuff to look at -- walls decorated with pennies, "legs" on the booth tables, industrial chandeliers, ...


Those are pennies individually glued onto the wall! Goozlepipe & Guttyworks. Aug. 2019


We joined Tanuki for lunch at Alhambra Theatre. Interesting venue, great performance of Mama Mia, and delicious Greek menu!


Mama Mia! Alhambra Theatre. Aug 2019

Toward the end of the month, while waiting for Hurricane Dorian to arrive, we visited several pubs for tacos, nachos, and more tacos.


Hurricane Dorian Watch - Phoenix Bar & Bowling. Sep 2019

Wonder when "fall" begins in Jacksonville?

81 views0 comments
bottom of page